Training Day 9 and 10 May 13th 2012 MOTHERS DAY!

Standard

Hello Everyone and Happy Mothers Day,

I would like to dedicate today’s post to my mother! If it weren’t for my mother, I wouldn’t be the physical active person I am today.

She is the one who set an example for me while I was growing up. I always remember my mom going to the gym, swimming, running, and simply by seeing her making an effort to be physically healthy made me want to become active and healthy.

When I was in high school she started participating in triathlons and I remember thinking she was crazy! Then she started running half marathons and marathons at 40 plus years old. . My mom currently lives in Costa Rica and has called Central America her home for the past 3 years. Since living in Costa Rica my mom has done unimaginable things. 60 mile bike rides to the top of a volcano, triathlons in the ocean with 20+ foot waves, mountain biking across the country, and lets not forget that my mom will be celebrating her 50 year old birthday this year. GO MOM! YOU ROCK!

My mom has taught me that no matter your age, its never to late to go after your goals and dreams. Mom, you are truly an inspiration, you are my ideal, my hero and my number one fan. I love you so much and I am so proud of you. Thank you for being the example in my life that tells me to never give up. I am so excited for you to come back to the States and be closer to me and family.

A shout out to all the other mothers out there, Happy Mothers Day! Mothers never get told enough how much they are appreciated for everything they do, for always putting yourself last and sacrificing so much, this day is for you, and I hope your children shower you with gifts and love.

Well back to the task at hand. Lets talk about fitness. I hope some of you were able to follow the workout schedule I posted a few days ago. Thursday I decided to give myself an OFF day. I was suppose to go on a bike ride, but I waited to long, the weather got bad and honestly I was physically exhausted. So Friday morning I was back in the gym, lifting weights. I did the plan B weight training workout and the whole time I was lifting weights I kept thinking “who came up with this freaking workout?! My legs are going to be so sore”! Oh that’s right, I did! Damn, I only have myself to get mad at. So after I finish my last set, I head into the locker room to change and get into the pool. I put my swimming suit in, grab my towel and start fishing around my bag for my goggles. Which are no where to be found! Gosh darn it! I think, eh maybe I don’t need them, Ill master the pool without them. Bad bad idea. I made it 2 laps before my eyes were burning! Ugh I guess no swimming for me today. Instead I sit in the sauna, stretch my muscles that are already sore and limp my way back to the locker room.

Saturday, according to my schedule I was suppose to go on a bike ride and then a run. Well yesterday was a wash, complete failure. I literally couldn’t stand up from a seat without wincing in complete agony and pain. Seriously, no exaggeration here, I couldn’t walk without waddling, crying, moaning groaning. Even today I am kicking myself, for literally kicking my own ass. But today I am going hiking and swimming, hoping that moving around, doing something other then feeling sorry for myself will help with the soreness. AH! Why do I do this to myself?! It hurts so good.

I would also like to talk about some diet and nutrition tips. On a side note, I have a friend who is entering a 60 day weight loss challenge with work, and I am creating a daily meal plan plus a grocery shopping list for her that Ill post tomorrow for any of you who would like to use it, its really a helpful tool, helps elevate eating those bad foods.

So I have a few tips when it comes to nutrition, these are tips that I have come up with on my own. They are based on information I have learned in school and personal experience.

There is SO much information out there about what you should eat, quick fix diet trends, but I honestly believe that a well balanced diet shouldn’t be a quick fix. Rather you should slowly change your eating habits into something that you can maintain for a long time.

The whole point is to consistently stay the same weight and not yo yo back and forth. There is nothing more damaging to your metabolism then losing 15 pounds, then gaining it, then losing it. Save yourself the grief and maintain a healthy weight and diet for life.

Tip Number 1, is 50% of your meal or snack protein based?! The answer should be yes! Increasing protein improves levels of blood triglycerides and HDL, and so may reduce your chances of having a heart attack, stroke, or other form of cardiovascular disease. Protein also helps you feel full longer, since it takes your body longer to digest it, and helps fight those hunger pains.

So what are good protein sources?!

-lean cuts of meat (think chicken, turkey, fish, and limit your red meat intake) also avoid processed meats, hot dogs, deli meat, sausage, bacon etc.

-peanut butter (without hydrogenated oil)

-beans

-protein shakes

-yogurt, cottage cheese. did you know Greek yogurt is an excellent source of protein, just avoid the flavored yogurts, they can contain a lot of sugar, opt for the plain instead and add your own fruit!

-EGGS! oh eggs how I love you. They are such a versatile food, scrambled, poached, boiled, pick your favorite and eat up! There is a lot of controversy surrounding eggs, most people say to just eat the egg whites, but the yolk is where all the nutrients is! New research indicates that the cholesterol in eggs is not absorb during digestion, and there for not as harmful to the body as once thought.

Tip Number 2. Limit the WHITE STUFF on your plate. What is white stuff?! Potatoes, white bread, white pasta, white tortillas, white cream sauces, SUGAR, salt, white rice. I don’t think I need to go into the whys, everyone knows. If its white, or came from something white, don’t eat it!

Tip Number 3. KEEP COLOR ON YOUR PLATE! Veggies veggies and more veggies. Spinach, cucumbers, carrots, tomatoes, bell peppers, squish, zucchini. Fruit, strawberries, oranges, blue berries, apples. All of these colorful foods are SO good for you, so eat up!

Tip Number 4. If you cant trace the food you are eating to its original source in one step then limit these foods. Example, apple to a tree, sweet potato to the ground. When I grocery shop my cart is always full of produce and I rarely ever buy anything from a package or a can. Package = processed and cans=sodium. Obviously I don’t have my own bread mill, nor do I make my own cheese so this can not be completely avoided, the idea is just to limit foods that are in a wrapper.

Tip Number 5. DRINK WATER! No I didn’t say lemonade or juice or to add crystal light aka artificial sweeteners to your water. No I didn’t say diet sodas either. I said drink water, just plain good ol water. Drink it and lots of it, every single day.

There you go! 5 easy tips to follow, 1. protein with every meal 2. limit white foods. 3. increase color on your plate 4. limit wrappers and packaging. 5. drink water.

SO easy to remember and to follow. I guarantee just by following at least 3 of these tips will be a HUGE step in the right direction. Look for a food plan and grocery list tomorrow.

Those who do not find time for exercise will have to find time for illness. — Earl of Derby

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!

With Love

-Crista

One response »

Leave a Reply

