Training Day 13 & 14, Busting the Myth of “Spot Training”

Standard

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!

Sorry you didn’t hear from me yesterday, its been a busy week. It seems like life just seems to always get too busy to always do the things you want to do.

Way to often are the days spent doing the mundane, every day cleaning, laundry, cooking, work, rinse and repeat. Don’t forget to take some time out for yourself and do something you love. For me of course its exercise! I just feel so much better when I get in a good workout.

Wednesday was a weight training and swimming day as planned. Full body weight training session and a half a mile swim. Thursday was a 45 minute bike ride that almost killed me. I use to completely dread swimming, now I love swimming and my biggest obstacle is the bike. Ugh the hills are awful.

Sometimes I feel like I would rather throw myself off of a hill, and roll down into a field of cactus then ride my bike up another freakin hill! Hill, actually more like a mountain! My legs start to burn, my chest is pounding, I think to myself, WHY AM I DOING THIS!!

Any bikers out  there?! Anyone want to give me any tips so that I don’t cry every time I get on a bike?! I have a 60 minute bike ride tomorrow, followed by a mile run. UGH. Wish me luck 😦

On to more important things! I would like to take a minute to talk about ‘spot training” and the myth behind it. When I use to work as a trainer, I would often have clients/patients ask me, ‘how do I get rid of this”??! Pointing to their love handles, or pinching the under part of their arms, also known as, “bat wings”. Then they precede to tell me how they do 100 sit ups and tricep dips every day but have yet to see any improvements.

Well ladies and gentlemen there is no such thing as spot training. You cant just do 100 sit ups every day, eat McDonald’s for breakfast and expect to have a 6 pack.

There are a lot of gizmo’s, gadgets, plans and celebrities out there making promises to the contrary, but believe me — those promises are as empty as doughnut calories. Forget the gimmicks, save your money and time, and remember this simple mantra: increase physical activity, decrease body fat.

So if you cant “spot train” then that simply means that you must exercise the WHOLE BODY!

Cardio, weights, high intensity intervals, calisthenics’s are all your friends. Doing the same thing every single day, is not your friend. If you have been working out every day and you aren’t seeing results, that’s probably because your body is plateauing and adapting to doing the same thing every day.

Throw your body a curve ball, try something new, increase your weights, run longer. Most importantly though, get your diet in check, If you are working out really hard, but eating not so good, again you wont see the results you want. You can tell a lot about a person just by looking at their mid section, that is where the bad diet foods like to hide.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend, dont forget to burn some calories. Tomorrow a 60 mile bike ride, 1 mile run. Sunday, 6 mile run!

 By exercise. I’ll tell you one thing, you don’t always have to be on the go. I sit around a lot, I read a lot, and I do watch television. But I also work out for two hours every day of my life, even when I’m on the road. – Jack LaLanne

With Love

-Crista

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

