If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you…. Moving to California :)

Standard

Howdy ho neighbors!

Wow it’s been a long long time since I posted last, over a month actually. A lot has happened in a month, good bad and indifferent. I really didn’t want to make another blog post until I had some good news to share. Let’s start first with the bad news.

So about 2 days before my triathlon I go SO SO sick with the stomach flu. I am talking projectile vomiting, nausea, fatigue, fever, the whole nine yards. I felt like I had been hit by a bus. It was horrible! And of course I was devastated because I had worked and trained so hard to do this triathlon.  The icing on the cake was that I rarely if ever get sick. It was horrible timing, wrecked my spirit for a few days, but I got back on the saddle again and I am already looking forward to racing in my next event before the year is over.

On to better news! So I was really holding on to share this news until everything was completely set in stone, I didn’t want to jump the gun, or worse yet jinx myself, but it’s confirmed, I am moving to Santa Monica California on August 3rd.

I am so fortunate to get both of the jobs that I had applied for in California which are at UCLA Medical Center, I will be working at an outpatient endocrinology office AND I also have the wonderful opportunity to work with Soul Cycle.  (company that I have blogged about in the past, but in case you forgot here is a link http://www.soul-cycle.com/soul-east/)

Image

                       

Now before you go all Republican on me and tell me how liberal California is, the cost of living, the horrid traffic, etc etc. Trust me I already know all of this. I figure anywhere you live has its pros and cons, I will be so fortunate to have gorgeous weather, the beach to wake up to every day, fresh ocean breeze, endless and exciting new places to explore, it will be an adventure to say the least.

Image

To say that I am not terrified out of my mind would be a gross understatement. I will be moving somewhere that I know practically 0 people, being the new girl at work, small fish in the big sea so to speak. But what I have learned is that if it doesn’t scare you then you aren’t dreaming big enough. Sometimes you  just have to take a leap of faith and believe that everything is going to work out for the better. Who knows maybe Ryan Gosling will walk into my place of employment and decide that he is utterly and hopelessly in love with me.  A girl can dream can’t she?!

Image

 Give me about a month and I will be all settled in and will be gladly accepting visitors. COME VISIT!

The most exciting part of this adventure is getting to train and be physically active in a very physically active city, not to mention that one of my jobs is solely about fitness! Can’t wait to share my adventures and I will continue to blog about fitness nutrition etc. Looking forward to it! Wish me luck!

“Man often becomes what he believes himself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.”
Gandhi

-ALL THE BEST

Crista

Leave a Reply

